Scottish Cup Finals 2012

Niall CollinCity of Edinburgh VC enjoyed massive success at the 2012 Scottish Volleyball Finals weekend, capturing no fewer than four trophies, coming out tops in every final they contested.

The standard was set by the club’s 2nd mens team in the first match of the weekend, as they came from two sets down to overcome South Ayrshire in five sets(20-25; 22-25; 25-14; 25-22; 15-4) in the Thistle Bowl, becoming in the process the first team from outside the top division to claim the Thistle Bowl trophy.

Many of the same players were in action again on the Sunday as City of Edinburgh U19 men ended their season with a 100% record, taking the honours in the Junior National League final over Marr College with a 2-0 (25-18; 25-23) scoreline.  City of Edinburgh’s Jedd Hunter was honoured with the Hannah Scott Trophy for the Most Valuable Player of the final.

City of Edinburgh men had tasted defeat in each of their last three Scottish Cup finals, and were overcome by final opponents Bon Accord in a playoff game just two weeks ago,   However there were no hiccups this time for the City boys as they dominated the mens Scottish Cup final from gun to tape.  Edinburgh’s straight sets victory (25-14; 25-10; 25-17) came in less than an hour.

Finally, City of Edinburgh women showed their mettle by recovering from deficits at the tail end of three sets to overcome Troon Prestwick & Ayr 3-1 (26-24; 13-25; 29-27; 25-23) thus ending Troon’s five year domination of the womens Scottish Cup.

In the other matches played over the weekend, Futures disposed of Su Ragazzi  in double time (25-11; 25-15) to take the Junior Girls title, Futures’ Katie Sampson also securing the Hannah Scott MVP award.  Similarly Edinburgh Jets proved too tough for Troon Kyle & Carrick in the womens Thistle Bowl, winning 3-0 (25-11; 25-9; 25-17) adding that trophy to the Top teams Cup won in December.

The romance of the cup was brought by a double final for Orkney, with both mens and womens teams from the islands making it through to their respective Scottish Plate finals.  However, neither team was able to hurdle the final obstacle, as North Grampian (25-21; 25-10; 23-25; 25-12) and Bellshill Cardinals (25-22; 25-17; 21-25; 25-12) showed their superior 3 experience to capture the titles.

The finals weekend was brought to a close with the presentation of the FinalWhistlleMedia Players of the Year awards, to the top players in the First Division.  The awards went as follows


Women Men
1st – Laura McReady (Su Ragazzi) Laura McReady  1st – Stuart Edgar (Kilmarnock Blaze)  Stuart Edgar
2nd – Mel Coutts (City of Edinburgh) Mel Coutts  2nd – Niall Collin (City of Edinburgh)  Niall Collin
3rd – Natalja Durkaca (City of Edinburgh) Natalja Durkaca  3rd – Jamie McHardy (City of Edinburgh)  Jamie McHardy
4th= -Linsey Bunten (Troon Prestwick & Ayr) Lindsey Bunten  4th – Alan Krawczyk (Glasgow Mets)  Alan Krawczyk
4th= -Elaine Krawczyk (Troon Prestwick & Ayr) Elaine Krawczyk