Annual General Meeting

Margaret Ann Fleming at the AGMScottish Volleyball’s Annual General Meeting 2013 was held on Friday 24th May 2013 at the Mercure Hotel in Perth.

The Scottish Volleyball Association celebrated with its members, volunteers, Board and staff all that has been positively achieved over the past twelve months.

The meeting was chaired by the SVA President, Mel Coutts and as members you were represented in the meeting by the HR Director Michelle Paterson, Legal Director Scott Borthwick and Performance Director Simon Coleman; SVA staff representation was made from Margaret Ann Fleming Chief Executive Officer; Simon Loftus Coaching Manager; Graeme Spowart Club and Participation Officer; Ailien Pallot Finance Officer; Kirsteen Houston Office Manager. Sportscotland Partnership Manager Malcolm Dingwall-Smith was also in attendance.

There was one Board apology from Sandy Steel Technical Director who was preparing for an FIVB Commission meeting in Lausanne.

Along with the members present, there were several apologies sent to the SVA office

Main points:

  • Items of Special Business – Board Resolution to change the Articles of Association. The floor unanimously accepted the change to the articles.
  • Scottish Volleyball’s 2012/2103 Annual Report was presented to the AGM floor and was well received from members. This report shall be available on the SVA website as from Monday 3rd June 2013.
  • 14 Awards were recognised. From coaches, players, volunteers, and clubs for their outstanding contributions to Scottish Volleyball for the past 12 months
  • Sandy Steel and Michelle Paterson were re-elected onto the SVA Board.

Margaret Ann Fleming said “the SVA AGM traditionally marks the end of the Indoor season with the beginning of the Beach Tour. With the changes to our Articles of the Association there is an opportunity to move the AGM to another venue and date more appropriate to the benefits of our members thus removing the need for a fixed date in the year. These changes are proactive Governance from Scottish Volleyball and I would like to personally thank all members for their support and in particular the SVA Board”

List of Award Recipients

SVA Awards  
Long Service Award Jennfier Downs
  Alan Byrne (Stonelaw HS)
Association Award Brian McDougall
Development Award Helen McGibbon (Belmont Academy)
Student of the Year Award Charlotte Daman Willems
Beach Awards  
Scottish Women’s Beach Volleyball Tour Winner 2012       Anna Fischer from NVLC
Scottish Men’s Beach Volleyball Tour Winner 2012 Colin Paterson
Coach of the Year Awards  
Men – 1st Place John Gaughan
Women – 1st Place Nick Moody
Women – 2nd Place Ally Jack
Women – 3rd Place Seva Shneer
Club of The Year  
Winner North Lanarkshire Volleyball Club
Runner up Kinross Volleyball Club
Runner up Su Ragazzi Volleyball Club